The sunshine state is famous for many things, but the recent changes in cannabis legislation are definitely at the top of our list. Although Florida residents are not fully in the clear, these new rules have already drastically progressed the cannabis industry.
There are many restrictions on who can buy and sell marijuana in the state, in addition to restrictions on the type of cannabis products that are available for purchase. With so many rules and regulations in the industry, it’s important to keep yourself in check.
Here’s a rundown of the current cannabis laws in the state of Florida.
As of 2017, Florida has repealed its ban on the use of medical marijuana. Qualified patients are now able to apply for Florida’s MMJ registration cards.
According to this law, qualifying conditions include the following:
Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus.
Acquired immune deficiency syndrome.
Post-traumatic stress disorder.
Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis.
A medical condition of the same kind or class as or comparable to the others listed.
A terminal condition diagnosed by a physician.
Chronic nonmalignant pain.
Once a patient receives a qualifying diagnosis, they can continue the application process by registering through the state’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use. A registration fee of $75 is required to process the application and to ship your official medical marijuana registration card.
And just like that –– you are legally allowed to purchase marijuana from any licensed Medical Marijuana Treatment Center (MMTC) in the state.
Qualified patients are encouraged to utilize the delivery and curbside pickup services available by a licensed MMTC. They are also now permitted to receive up to 2.5 ounces of flower every 35 days.
Consumption of edibles is now officially considered an approved route of cannabis administration and may be distributed to patients through registered MMTCs.
However, it’s important to note that consumption of cannabis must be in a private residence with property owner’s permission and can also be constituted as a first-degree misdemeanor in any of the following locations:
- Any place that is open the the general public
- In a school bus, vehicle, aircraft or boat
- On school grounds
On that note, please enjoy cannabis products responsibly. We will continue to put our best foot forward as we stay true to our main focus –– to cultivate premium cannabis and as always, #GrowGoodTimes.